Tripura cabinet approves social assistance schemes for journalists and their families



The Tripura cabinet approved two programs: “Tripura Journalists Sanman Pension Scheme 2021” and “Journalists Paribar Suraksha Scheme 2021” for the welfare of journalists and their families in the state.

Speaking to the correspondent, Tripura cabinet spokesman and education minister Ratan Lal Nath said: “The former Left Front government drew up a pension scheme in 2012 that amounted to 1000 rupees. After the formation of the government led by the BJP in Tripura, the pension scheme was amended by a cabinet decision of July 17, 2018, and the amount was set at Rs 10,000 per month. Currently, four retired journalists receive this amount as part of the pension plan ”.

Tripura Cabinet Approves Social Assistance Schemes for Journalists and Their Families 2

“The Council of Ministers has approved two schemes -” Tripura Journalists Sanman Pension Scheme 2021 “and” Journalists Paribar Suraksha Scheme 2021 “where journalists will receive Rs 10,000 after retirement while on the other hand, family members will receive Rs 5,000 after the death of all journalists at the time of work, ”added Nath.

Nath added: “Journalists will become eligible for a pension: retirement after 60 years, journalists accredited for a minimum period of ten years, cannot benefit from any other central or public pension or allowance except the EPF, must have no record of a criminal case and a family income of less than Rs 3 lakh per year.

Tripura cabinet approves social assistance schemes for journalists and their families 3

Read also: Tripura: Bangladeshi intellectuals urge Indian authorities to restore 1971 liberation war memorials in Agartala

“The families of journalists eligible to receive a pension are: a resident of Tripura for at least 10 years, accredited journalists for at least seven years, a 10-year employment certificate issued by a news organization and a family member under the age of 18 would also get this fixed amount per month, ”said Minister Ratan Lal Nath.

He further added that applications for these two schemes should be submitted to the department director of the ICA.

The respective DMs will investigate and submit the report to an eight-member committee consisting of the secretary of ICA, secretary of the Agartala Press Club, an official from the legal department, the deputy secretary of the finance department, one member each from electronic, web and print media and the director of the CIA. .

The committee will review and make the final decision.

Agartala Press Club Secretary and Tripura Journalists Union General Secretary Pranab Sarkar welcomed the decision by the State Cabinet headed by Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb.



Leave A Reply